On The Road With "Olivia"

Adventures on a Folding Bike

Cycling in Oceanside, CA

I recently returned from a business trip down to Oceanside, CA. The best part was being able to see my older children and their families down in San Diego County. The second best thing is the topic for this blog.

I brought down “Olivia”, my olive green colored folding bike, with me. I was able to ride her to and from the training sessions from my hotel room. The weather was interesting because a tropical storm had come up from the south bringing rain and cooler temperatures.

img_0696

I rode Olivia in the rain. I wore my rain suit, reflective hi-viz vest,  and made sure the front and rear lights were in the blinking mode to make myself visible to the drivers on the road. I also put some reflective tape and a head lamp on my new bicycle helmet to make myself even more visible.

I also had an opportunity to ride on the San Luis Rey River Trail. I was able to talk with other cyclists about how convenient it is to have a folding bike to take it with me most places that I go.

img_0714

Sign pointing the way to the trail.

img_0707

There were lots of other cyclists on the trail. It was a perfect day after the clouds had parted.

The trail followed along the banks of the San Luis Rey River and was built on top of a levee. It reminded me of the Mississippi River trail down in New Orleans.

img_0708

Because this trail was along the river, It was built on top of a levee just like the Mississippi River trail down in New Orleans.

img_0710

Here is one of many underpasses along the trail that made the length of it completely uninterrupted; adding to the safety of the cyclists.

img_0715

Some cyclists coming out from one of the underpasses.

img_0717

A low spot along the trail with a warning sign. Flash flooding is a real danger during a rare southern California rain storm.

It was a great time out cycling the whole week I was there. Since I rode every day to and from training, I was able to get out of my car and enjoy commuting back and forth. Also, during lunch breaks, I was able to cycle to and from local eateries. What a great experience.

Update:

When I originally rode this trail I was only able to go a couple of miles due to time constraints and needing to see additional family members. I was able to return and rode the entire length and back for a total of about 8 miles. It was great to enjoy the day on my bike and see the entire trail. The trail ends just past the I-5 freeway bridges in Oceanside.

1125161449

The far west end of the trail under the I-5 bridges in Oceanside.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2016 by .
