On The Road With "Olivia"

Adventures on a Folding Bike

Just in case…

I have a small “saddle bag” hanging from the right side of Olivia’s rear rack. It is an old (70s-80s) Swiss military gas mask bag that came without a shoulder strap. I took a couple of pieces of green paracord and tied it to the rack. In addition to the below listed items, I use this bag to carry notebooks, files, and anything else that I need throughout my working day (remember, I use this bike at work to get around from place to place and meeting to meeting).

Surplus Swiss military gas mask bag. It is a rubberized nylon bag that is waterproof.

Surplus Swiss military gas mask bag. It is a rubberized nylon bag that is waterproof.

Inside the saddlebag are some tools and items just in case.

Inside the saddlebag is my cable lock; multitool with screwdrivers, Allan wrench set, nut drivers, etc.; pry tools: and an innertube patch kit. In the plastic bag are several plastic shopping bags to keep the seat dru and a helmet rain cover made from a very inexpensive shower cap ($3 US)

Inside the saddlebag is my cable lock; multi-tool with screwdrivers, Allan wrench set, nut drivers, etc.; tire levers; and an inner tube patch kit. In the plastic bag are three neatly folded plastic shopping bags to keep the seat, etc.  dry and a helmet rain cover made from a very inexpensive shower cap ($3 US)

Using “zip ties”, I put the holder and portable bike pump on my handle bars.

Mounted on my handlebars with "zip ties", my portable hand pump is always handy if needed.

Mounted on my handlebars with “zip ties”, my portable bike pump is always handy if needed.

These are my “just-in-case” items I carry. There are other items I could carry. but I want to keep my load as light as possible. The idea is that I can add or subtract items as the situation dictates.

2 comments on “Just in case…

  1. Pingback: A Tisket, A Tasket…. | On The Road With "Olivia"

  2. Pingback: Carrying Stuff | On The Road With "Olivia"

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2015 by .
